Adventures in Glass Clay

glassclaybanner2

Here is my first attempt at creating with glass clay.  I picked some up from the amazing Paula Radke last year in Tuscon, AZ but was very intimidated to try it.  But, I got up the courage, and here are my results!

I love creating things with found objects, or something reminicent of the past, so my first two design ideas incorportated just that.  These are made from wax seal stamps, (not vintage one however.  I created my own designs and had the stamps manufactured.  This way there are no copyright issues when I sell the pendants!)

WaxSeals

waxsealcolseuplove waxseal32 waxseal31 waxsealcolseupheart

 

The second technique uses vintage printing press type.  I made small “inspirational pebbles” and used the vintage type to impress words of encouragement and heart into them:

inspirationalpebbles

Gracetypesetclose glassclaytypeset inspirationalpebblescloseup

The process was suprisingly easy, and I even had to program my kiln!!! (something I have never done in the 7 years I have been lampworking)  Thanks to my smart and handsome techie boyfriend for his help!!! 🙂

 

Here is what they looked like before firing:

GlassClayKiln glassclaykilncloseup

 

After I get back from this years gem-fest, I will be doing more with this awesome new material!!!

 

logotransparentsparklingWaterspng

signature

10 thoughts on “Adventures in Glass Clay

  1. These are so adorable! I bought some glass clay about a year ago and my first attempts were horrific… You have inspired me to give it another try. You did such a great job, I just love them!

    • I found it last year at one of the Tuscon shows, and it was made by Paula Radke, an artist that I adore! I knew that if she was producing it, then it had to be decent quality, so I purchased a small sampler pack. 🙂 It was fairly easy to use, provided you have experince with clay and can program your kiln!!!

    • Marti, if you ever want to play, there are two other ways of firing it. You can use a torch (I assume that a map gass one would work as well) or you can invest in a microwave kiln, which I have heard works really, really well. It’s still a bit of an investment (they run around $150) but they are pretty cool!!!

  2. Glass clay? Veeeerrry interesting. I haven’t heard of it before. I’d love to see what they look like post firing. Do they look like glass? I’m intrigued!

    • Hi Ema. Most of the picutres here are post firing (the only ones that are not are pre-firing are the ones in the kiln) You can get more or less shine by adjusting how long you leave them in the kiln. 🙂 They do feel like glass, but a bit rougher than premanufactured glass. 🙂

  3. Carolyn, your pieces are so endearing! I have never heard of glass clay. I have my own kiln for glass fusing. I need to look into this.
    P.S. I love your blog. It’s so interesting!

Leave a Reply

